All Pages – Prime Leaderboard Banner
All Pages – Skyscraper Right
All Pages – Skyscraper Left

2018 JUNO Awards now accepting submissions for Indigenous Music Album of the Year

2018 JUNO Awards now accepting submissions for Indigenous Music Album of the Year

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced on October 2 that the JUNO Awards is now accepting submissions for Indigenous Music Album of the Year sponsored by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network.

The early bird submission deadline is 5 p.m. EST on October 20, 2017. The final submission deadline is 5 p.m. EST on November 10, 2017.

“Being nominated for (and winning) the JUNO Award for Indigenous Recording of the Year had a huge impact on my career,” explains singer/songwriter Leela Gilday. “It brought a visibility and validation to my music that I did not previously have. It netted me a booking agent, tours, and contacts that I wouldn’t have been able to pull together on my own. It did not make me a better musician, but it let people on a much broader scale know what I was doing, and it changed how they viewed me and my music.”

The category is open to music released for national sale by Canadians citizens between September 1, 2016 and November 10, 2017. With respect to album length, a project that is 20 minutes or six unique songs is now considered a full album and is eligible for the Indigenous Music Album of the Year category.

Eligible music styles include all traditional Indigenous music: Iroquois, Social Pow Wow Drum (i.e. Sioux, Assiniboine, Cree, Ojibway, Blackfoot, etc.); all Hand Drums (e.g. Inuit, Dene, Cree, Mi’kmaq, West Coast, etc.); Inuit Throat Singing; Traditional Flutes; and, Métis, Cree, and Mi’kmaq Fiddling. In addition, fusions of all genres of contemporary music that incorporate the above and/or reflect the unique Indigenous experience in Canada, by virtue of words or music.

The Indigenous Category Advisory Committee listens to each submission to ensure that each album meets the criteria of the category. The committee is chaired by Alan Greyeyes (Manitoba Music) and Dan Smoke (host, Smoke Signals on CHRW Radio). Fawn Wood (recording artist), Rhéanne Chartrand (curator / creative producer), Ellen Hamilton (Qaggiavuut!), Brian Wright-McLeod (author, The Encyclopedia of Native Music), Marc Nadjiwan (recording artist), Dave McLeod (NCI FM/NOW Country 104.7), Amanda Rheaume (recording artist), Leanne Goose (recording artist), and Jarrett Martineau (Revolutions Per Minute) round out the Indigenous Category Advisory Committee membership.

JUNO Week 2018 will be hosted in Vancouver from March 19 through March 25, 2018.

2018 JUNO Award submissions:
Submission can be made online at

Early Bird Submission Deadline Date is 5 p.m. EST on October 20, 2017.
The Final Submission Deadline is 5 p.m. EST on November 10, 2017.

Nominees will be announced on February 6, 2018.

Submission Fees and Deadlines:
CARAS offers an early bird submission fee to those who submit between October 2, 2017 and October 20, 2017. The submission fee can be paid online with Visa, MasterCard, and AMEX or by cheque sent to the CARAS office.

CARAS Academy Delegates can save up to 40% on the submission fees. To register as an Academy Delegate and save on submission fees, please sign up at

October 2 – 20, 2017 (Early Bird Deadline)
$40 for CARAS Academy Delegates
$65 for non-Academy Delegates

October 21 – November 10, 2017 (Final Deadline)
$75 for CARAS Academy Delegates
$95 for non-Academy Delegates

Visit for more information.

How it Works:
340 Judges are responsible for listening to each of the submissions and voting for the best product in the genre. The judges change each year and are spread out in different facets of the music industry and different regions throughout Canada.

50 Nominating & Voting Committee Members maintain the integrity of the JUNO Awards. It is their responsibility to monitor any changes within the industry as it relates to the awards. The committee brings any necessary changes to the attention of the Board of Directors.

190+ Music Advisory Committee Members are responsible for ensuring that each of the submissions in their specific genre meets the required qualification for the JUNO Awards. Each category has an associated advisory committee.


For more information about the Indigenous Category Advisory Committee:
Alan Greyeyes
(204) 296-9790

All Pages – Content Banners – Top and Bottom

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.