All Pages – Prime Leaderboard Banner
All Pages – Skyscraper Right
All Pages – Skyscraper Left

Short-List Announcement For Best Canadian Music Video of the Year

Short-List Announcement For Best Canadian Music Video of the Year


Short-List Announcement For Best Canadian Music Video of the Year
Top Ten Trailer:

The Prism Prize announces the Top Ten best Canadian music videos of the year, as voted by a jury of more than 120 Canadian music, film and media arts professionals. After viewing hundreds of music videos released in 2015, jurors selected the Prism Prize Top 20 and Top Ten based on originality, creativity, style, innovation and effective execution. The jury will vote once more to determine the Prism Prize winner, who will receive the $10,000 Grand Prize at the Awards Presentation on Sunday, May 15, 2016 at TIFF Bell Lightbox.

THE 2016 PRISM PRIZE TOP TEN (in alphabetical order):

  • A Tribe Called Red – Suplex (Director: Jon Riera)
  • Braids – Miniskirt (Director: Kevan Funk)
  • Death From Above 1979 – Virgins (Director: Eva Michon)
  • Drake – Hotline Bling (Director: Director X)
  • The Elwins – So Down Low (Director: Alan Poon)
  • Fast Romantics – Julia (Director: Matthew Angus)
  • Grimes – Flesh Without Blood (Director: Grimes)
  • Harrison – How Can It Be (Director: Maxime Lamontagne)
  • Kalle Mattson – Avalanche (Director: Philip Sportel)
  • Monogrenade – Le Fantôme (Director: Kristof Brandl)

On Sunday, May 15, 2016 the Prism Prize Screening and Awards Presentation at TIFF Bell Lightbox will include a screening of the Top Ten videos, and award presentations including: the $10,000 Grand Prize for best Canadian music video of the year; the Audience Award; the Special Achievement Award (presented by FYI Music News) for artistic achievements and exceptional world-wide contribution to music video art; and the Arthur Lipsett Award (presented by MuchFACT) for innovative and unique approaches to music video art. Tickets to the Prism Prize Screening and Awards Presentation are on sale now at

In addition to the Top Ten, all Prism Prize Top 20 videos are eligible for this year’s Audience Award, presented by Noisey Canada. The Top 20 videos are live at, where fans can watch and vote on who will take home this year’s Audience Award.

All Prism Prize Award recipients, including the Grand Prize, Audience Award, Special Achievement Award and the Arthur Lipsett Award, will receive $2000 grants from William F. White for production equipment rentals, and all Top Ten nominees will receive an exclusive gift bag from MAC Cosmetics.

Past Prism Prize winners for Best Canadian Music Video of the Year include Noah Pink for Rich Aucoin’s Brian Wilson is A.L.i.V.E (2013), Emily Kai Bock for Arcade Fire’s Afterlife (2014), and Chad VanGaalen for Timber Timbre’s Beat The Drum Slowly (2015).

Prism Prize is proud to host a comprehensive resource for music fans to watch the best Canadian music videos all in one place. Videos and news from Canada’s music video community are available throughout the year at

All Pages – Content Banners – Top and Bottom

About The Author

MUSKRAT Magazine

MUSKRAT is an on-line Indigenous arts, culture magazine that honours the connection between humans and our traditional ecological knowledge by exhibiting original works and critical commentary. MUSKRAT embraces both rural and urban settings and uses media arts, the Internet, and wireless technology to investigate and disseminate traditional knowledges in ways that inspire their reclamation.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.