November 29, 2023

All Pages – Prime Leaderboard Banner
All Pages – Skyscraper Right
All Pages – Skyscraper Left

The 19th Annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Announces Festival Award Winners

The 19th Annual imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Announces Festival Award Winners

On Sunday, October 21, 2018 at imagineNATIVE’s Awards Presentation at the TIFF Bell Lightbox, the esteemed Sun Jury and Moon Jury considered film, video, audio, and digital media works from Canadian and international Indigenous artists to select winners in over a dozen categories with over $30,000 in cash prizes and in-kind services.

Throughout the Festival, imagineNATIVE also presented awards at the Industry Award Reception on Thursday, October 18 and the Bullseye Music Contest at The Beat on Saturday, October 20.

imagineNATIVE will showcase a selection films with the free Award Winners Screening on Sunday, October 21 at 9pm at TIFF Bell Lightbox.

The 2018 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners are:

Best Dramatic Feature
Toyon Kyyl (The Lord Eagle) by Eduard Novikov
$2000 cash award sponsored by Bellmedia

Best Indigenous Language Production
Wiñaypacha (Eternity) by Oscar Catacora
$1000 cash award sponsored by Indigenous Media Initiatives

The Kent Monkman Award for Best Experimental Work
Eatnanvuloš Lottit (Birds in the Earth) by Marja Helander
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

Best Audio Work
Trans Mountain Pipeline, B.C. Wolf Cull and Dog Sled Massacre
by Crystal Favel
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

Best Digital Media Work
Aeasi by Amie Batalibasi
$500 cash award sponsored by Unifor

Best Interactive Work
Biidaaban: First Dawn by Lisa Jackson
$500 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE

The Jane Glassco Award for Emerging Talent
ANORI (Wind) by Pipaluk Kreutzmann Jorgensen
$2000 cash award sponsored by The CJ Foundation

The Ellen Monaque Award for Best Youth Work
A World of Our Own by Morningstar Derosier
$500 cash award sponsored by RBC & Humber College Aboriginal Resource Centre

The Cynthia Lickers-Sage Award for Best Short Work
Biidaaban (The Dawn Comes) by Amanda Strong
$1000 cash award sponsored by VTape

Best Documentary Work Short Format
FAST HORSE by Alexandra Lazarowich
$1000 cash award sponsored by TVO

The Alanis Obomsawin Award for Best Documentary Work Long Format 
Marks of Mana by Lisa Taouma
$2000 cash award sponsored by CBC Docs

The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Michael Greyeyes
$1500 cash award sponsored in part by ACTRA National, and generous individual donations.

Sun Jury Prize
Sgaawaay K’uuna (Edge of the Knife)
by Gwaai Edenshaw and Helen Haig-Brown

Moon Jury Prize
My Friend Michael Jones by Ian Leaupepe, Samson Rambo

APTN/imagineNATIVE Web Series Pitch
Ryan Cooper and Adeline Bird
$30,000 in cash and $20,000 of in-kind prizing and mentorship presented by APTN and supported by Technicolor, Innovate by Day, William F White International, TIFF, WIFT-T, T.O. Webfest and new supporters Bedtracks and Bizable Media

NFB/imagineNATIVE Digital and Interactive Prize
Gail Maurice

The Rising Director Mentorship Award
Alexandra Lazarowich
Created in partnership with Laura J. Milliken of Big Soul Productions and with the support of the CMPA

The Rising Producer Mentorship Award
Darcy Waite
Created with the support of the DGC

Bullseye Music Prize
$10,000 cash award sponsored by imagineNATIVE and Slaight Music

All Pages – Content Banners – Top and Bottom

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.